Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout My Account Policies
Netrition Logo Netrition Home Netrition Home Shopping Cart Checkout Account Settings Ordering Policies Netrition Netrition Home
Flat $4.95 Shipping in 48 States
Popular Categories
• All Categories
• Low Carb Products
• Gluten Free Products
• Bariatric Approved
• Bars
• Diet and Weight Loss
• Herbs
• Minerals
• Muscle Builders
• Protein
• Vitamins
• Best Sellers
• Customer Reviews

Popular Brands
• Atkins Nutritionals
• BSN
• Designer Whey Protein
• EAS
• MHP
• Muscle Meds
• Muscle Pharm
• MuscleTech
• NOW
• Optimum Nutrition
• Ultimate Nutrition
• Universal Nutrition
• USP Labs

Deals!
• Sale Items
• Clearance Sale
• Promotions
• Freebies

Information
• Product Analyzer
• Message Boards
• Food Nutrients

Ordering
• My Account
• Shopping Cart
• Checkout
• Policies

Help
• New Customer Help
• Contact Us
• About Us

Join Netrition on Facebook! Join us on Facebook!


Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report. Click to verify BBB accreditation and to see a BBB report.

Designer Whey Protein
Designer Whey Protein

 
Write an online review for
Designer Whey Protein (Designer Whey Protein)

45 Reviews
Average rating
(35)
(3)
(1)
(3)
(3)

Customer Reviews  

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful.
March 05, 2007
Reviewer: Harley in Illinois
Out of all the protein powders I have tried over the twenty plus years of working out, Designer Whey Protein powders are the easiest to mix and the best tasting on the market today. I have seen great results using this powder for fat loss and muscle gains.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
September 25, 2010
Reviewer: Gloria in Washington
I use the French Vanilla, Double Chocolate, and Strawberry in my muffins, brownies, shakes and smoothies. I also use it to make my "cereal". Try it : 3 Tablespoons Flaxseed Meal, rounded 2 Tablespoons Designers, rounded (any flavor) 1/2 Cup DaVinci SF Syrup (any flavor)

Mix the dry in a microwavable cup or bowl, add the Syrup, stir, and microwave 30 seconds. Stir, and nuke another 15 seconds, or until desired thickness. Add cream and enjoy.

Mix and match any flavors of Designer and Syrup together. The "fruit" flavors are good.

Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
March 27, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Missouri
Been using Designer whey for a little over a year. Tried the vanilla first and it was OK. Got a little tough to take after a while but that was more out of taste monotony than anything. Next was the chocolate and it just blew me away! I almost feel guilty drinking it. It is that good. Both flavors mix well and sit well with my stomach and, of course, it does what it is supposed to do for you pre/post workout. Can't say enough about the excellent choco flavor.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
October 26, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in Illinois
The products are great, but was surprised to see a scoop wasn't included with the last order after I'd thrown the other scoops out.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, French Vanilla
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
February 11, 2008
Reviewer: Kim in California
This is one of the best tasting protein drinks I have had. Not only that, it is very satisfying and curbs my hunger too. I use 2 scoops with 8 ounces of no fat milk and 4 ounces of water, throw in a couple ice cubes, and blend very briefly. It is the best!! That gives me about 50 grams of protein alone. I've also thrown in various fruit/peanut butter for a change of pace, but I love it alone!
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
February 27, 2007
Reviewer: Eugene in Virginia
Hey, I have tried the vanilla praline, chocolate, and the strawberry. All are pretty tasty but I prefer the strawberry, have seen great results with this product and would recommend it to anyone looking for a protein supplement.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 21, 2013
Reviewer: Carole in Florida
I have used Designer Whey Protein for years. I've tried others maybe because they there cheaper or something but I always come back to Designer Whey Protein because it mixes in things easily and the flavor is really good and the carb count is low. I've used the Plain and Simple, the Gourmet Chocolate, the French Vanilla, and the Vanilla Praline. I mix it in drinks like my low-carb chocolate shake and also in baked products. I highly recommend this product. I think you will be pleased with it.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 29, 2012
Reviewer: A customer in Illinois
Best tasting and mixing protein that I've used. Also, very low calorie for those not looking for a meal replacement.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, French Vanilla
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 29, 2011
Reviewer: Ice in Missouri
I've been using Designer protein now for about 3 months. And I only use double chocolate. It's awesome. Tastes absolutely fantastic. I don't know about other flavors, but if you don't like regular (especially vanilla & strawberry) flavor, just take my word and get double chocolate. . For my post workout I mix it with milk or water, NOW Dextrose Optimum, Nutrition Creatine Powder and Optimum Nutrition Glutamine.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 27, 2011
Reviewer: Darrin in Ohio
I think this stuff is absolutely fantastic.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 29, 2011
Reviewer: A customer in California
Great tasting protein and does its job
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 24, 2011
Reviewer: BRIAN in Massachusetts
2 net cards 19gr protein.. mixes great with my coffee in the morning to start my day or when I'm looking for a quick between meal solution..
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Double Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 07, 2010
Reviewer: Jason in Vermont
I have tried several protein powders over the years, and have tried to lean toward the more natural powders, without added coloring, preservatives or sweeteners. The "natural" labeled versions of this product are excellent! I really enjoy the natural and the french vanilla. It shakes up easily in a shaker bottle without clumping, and with a few ounces of juice mixed with water, it's ready to go after 20 seconds of shaking. I would highly recommend this powder!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 05, 2010
Reviewer: John in Maryland
The designer whey protein I've been using has been solid. I like to mix two scoops with orange juice and shake it. It mixes well and it tastes good. I've also tried it with milk and water and its pretty disgusting to say the least. I will continue to buy this product as long as I keep seeing results. I am, however, hesitant on the other flavors as this mix I've been using has worked wonders so I probably will stick with this mix. Hope this helps.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, French Vanilla
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 18, 2010
Reviewer: meg in Ohio
We've tried the Chocolate, Strawberry, and Vanilla Designer Whey Proteins and they are, by far, the best-tasting protein supplements (powder, bars, whatever) we've found. My husband has been lifting for over 30 years and has tried them all. Our college-age children drink the Chocolate flavor and I'm happy to know they're getting some quality protein in their diets. I've started having a Chocolate protein powder & milk drink for breakfast. It's so much better than skipping the meal, which used to happen all too often. It's really helping me stick to my exercise/diet plan. The Strawberry flavor is fantastic in fruit smoothies. The Vanilla is a good choice if you do not want to add (much) flavor to whatever you're making. The Chocolate & Strawberry are our favorites.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 20, 2010
Reviewer: MARCUS in Arkansas
This product is very good....Mixes well, and tastes good.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, French Vanilla
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

April 19, 2010
Reviewer: Julie in California
Delicious chocolate taste, not chalky like some. Great with 1 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 banana and ice blended, yum! The only protein powder I buy.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 26, 2010
Reviewer: A customer in Tennessee
Great product. Really good taste and works really good too. I will never use another protein other than Designer Whey.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 05, 2010
Reviewer: Gordon M. in Utah
My daughter and I have used these proteins for years and by far it is best tasting whey. It is great for starting the morning and for quick recovery after a work out. This is the only protein powder that my daughter will use. My daughter really likes the chocolate and my favorite is vanilla praline.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 02, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Kentucky
Prefer to use natural flavor for versatility. Great product!
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Plain & Simple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 08, 2009
Reviewer: Angela in Massachusetts
If you're sick of low carb protein that tastes like chalky crap then this is the protein for you. This is by far the only protein shake I can drink without gagging. Vanilla Praline is my absolute favorite. Strawberry is good also. If you add milk to them they taste like a yummy treat but I prefer to mix with water because I would rather chew my carbs.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 31, 2009
Reviewer: Robert in Florida
This is a very good protein mix! It mixes well and the taste can not be beat. I feel chocolate is the best flavor and it gives you the right amount of protein per scoop. I will no longer use any other brand of protein. Great product!!!
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 19, 2009
Reviewer: Kenneth in New York
I've been using Designer Whey for at least 10 years. It's easy to digest, and it doesn't make me gassy... that's really important. Cheap protein powders are hard to digest. I think the Chocolate flavor is really excellent, and Strawberry is a close second. The Vanilla flavors are okay but a little plain - Vanilla is good for recipes (add to pancakes) and adding bananas, peanut butter etc to your blender recipes.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 06, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Mississippi
I have tried both the Strawberry and the Chocolate. I prefer the Chocolate. The Strawberry tastes like Pepto-Bismol to me.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

November 14, 2008
Reviewer: A customer in Mississippi
Bar none, the best tasting protein I have ever purchased. It is also more than just protein. It contains essential amino acids and vitamins (B6 and 12). It is relatively easy to mix (although the strawberry tends to mix easier than the chocolate). Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

October 20, 2008
Reviewer: guillermo in New Jersey
Very good protein. It does not make you as fat as other proteins. The price is great, it tastes good and mixes well with water.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 09, 2008
Reviewer: Brian in Illinois
I'm a very picky eater but this protein drink actually tasted pretty good for something that's not meant to. I ordered it once and just ordered another 4.4lb container cause its definitely the best one I've tried. Add a bit of milk and ice to the chocolate one and you have one tasty pre/post work out drink. Definitely recommend it to those who want a good protein boost without choking on it.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

February 23, 2008
Reviewer: Michelle in Pennsylvania
This is my first protein shake I have tried and I love it! It is like drinking chocolate milk and definitely fills me up and refreshes me after a workout! I have gotten my friend hooked on it as well!!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 05, 2007
Reviewer: Brian in Virginia
It tastes pretty good considering it's a protein shake and it's decently filling. Also, you can add it to most food recipe's to increase the protein content. It's a good post-workout recovery meal as well.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 30, 2007
Reviewer: Ronaldo in Alabama
Excellent product. Taste is very good. It dissolves thoroughly and quickly in liquids such as water, milk, and juice. The other day I made a banana shake (milk, banana, ice and Whey protein) and to my delight it was absolutely delicious. Great product!
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, French Vanilla
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 26, 2007
Reviewer: Jacob in New Jersey
I have not yet tried other brands of flavored whey protein mixes. However, the strawberry flavor is excellent. My wife says it bothers her stomach, but agrees the flavor is great. We also have tried the chocolate and natural. Both mix very well and quickly. They consistency is great and the chocolate tastes good too.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Luscious Strawberry
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 03, 2007
Reviewer: Michael in Florida
Excellent product. I have used it for many, many years. It provides a great tasting protein powder backed by a company which has been on the cutting edge of whey protein development.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Luscious Strawberry
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

June 26, 2007
Reviewer: Ben in Ohio
I have used Designer Whey for years and find it to be an excellent product. I like the fact that it dissolves in anything: OJ, water, milk - and never clumps. I have had great results with it and will continue to use it.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Plain & Simple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
April 27, 2007
Reviewer: nikki in Iowa
I have used Designer Whey, Natural for years. I use it for baking low carb products. The fact is, it does not add any weird flavors to my baking. I usually use it to make low carb desserts, especially coffee cakes.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Plain & Simple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

March 26, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in California
I'm a big fan of Designer Whey now after trying it out. I now buy the 5lb jug to save some cash. I'm also lactose intolerant and I have no problems with this product. It's not whey isolate but the price is right.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 07, 2012
Reviewer: Judy in South Carolina
I use this for breakfast with add ins for more protein and flavor. I add cottage cheese for protein and creaminess. I have to use a blender because I also use ice. Sometimes I add peanut flour or PB2 for flavor and more protein. I use cold coffee instead of water for a mocha shake.

I wish the protein powder had more of an intense chocolate taste. It isn't very sweet but I add some Splenda to help with that.

I enjoy and look forward to my shakes every morning. I use Xantham Gum to help thicken the shake. My protein shakes are like drinking real milk shakes because of the texture.

I am not into weight lifting, but I do walk 2 miles every morning. I use the protein shakes to help me stay full for longer periods of time.

This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Double Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

July 01, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in New York
Designer Whey Natural is the only unsweetened protein powder I've found. This minimizes the consumption of artificial sweeteners abundant in most powders, and also eliminates the overwhelmingly sweet taste you get when combining sweetened powder with 50-60g dextrose. This flavor does NOT taste good on its own, but is perfect if you mix protein with dextrose.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Plain & Simple
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

December 13, 2007
Reviewer: A customer in New York
Only protein I've tried, but when I mention it to people who weightlift, they say it's good. And it seems to be working.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

January 08, 2009
Reviewer: A customer in Florida
It does not taste good, it has a bad after taste. I have the strawberry flavor, maybe I got a bad batch ,because taste is awful, the worst tasting whey protein I ever had and i bought it for the taste recommendation and nutrients in it.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Luscious Strawberry
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

September 21, 2013
Reviewer: Lori in Washington
Terrible. Tastes nothing like vanilla. I like their other flavors, but this one is so bad. I even tried adding vanilla extract to it and truvia, but it still tastes terrible! I wanted to like it!
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, French Vanilla
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 25, 2007
Reviewer: Ray in Washington
I bought the 2 lb. tubs of Vanilla and Strawberry, At first they tasted ok, but now a couple of weeks later I can't stand the taste of them, especially the Vanilla, I have to chug them down, almost makes me sick to my stomach! I'm glad I'm almost done with the 2 tubs. I will not buy again, also they are a little high on cholesterol at 45mg a scoop.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, French Vanilla
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.
August 17, 2007
Reviewer: Robert in Texas
Designer protein was the first protein supplement powder I ever tried. At first I thought the taste was OK, but after a few weeks of taking it 2-3 times a day it started to make me nauseated. It even had a laxative effect which I'm sure was extremely detrimental to my muscle building goals. The strawberry tastes ok, but the vanilla is disgusting. When mixing it tends to form hard calculus on the sides of your glass or blender which you need to scrape off later. I personally have never tried the chocolate, but have read other reviews and hear similar complaints. Since my trials with Designer I have tried Cytosport's Muscle Milk and Optimum Nutrition's Pure Whey and have found them to be much tastier and easier on my gastrointestinal system. Plus they have more protein per serving.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

May 11, 2012
Reviewer: Lisa in Illinois
TASTES HORRIBLE!! Save your money. I bought the French Vanilla flavor. I don't know who wrote previous reviews (of which I counted on prior to purchase...) but this is stuff is awful. When I did a search for reviews **on the web** I saw the other bad reviews about this product flavor too. I should have known to go outside a vendors site for objective reviews.

I do love Netrition though.

This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, French Vanilla
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 29, 2010
Reviewer: Codey in Utah
I tried the vanilla mixed with water and it was nasty. So i thought maybe milk would help but it was just as bad. Ive tried different mixes before but this is by far the worst. I only bought it after reading the reviews here on how great it tastes, but it does not. I did mix it in a smoothie and it was ok so i guess it wasnt a total loss
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, French Vanilla
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

August 20, 2010
Reviewer: Christine in Pennsylvania
this is awful- it tastes like sour milk...I have no idea what all the good reviews are based on but I am throwing $39.99 in the trash, can't even stomach it.
This review is specific to Designer Whey Protein, Gourmet Chocolate
Was this review helpful to you? Yes  No

Hot Products













Shop quickly using your personal Order History! View prior purchases to re-order the same products! $4.95 shipping charge for the entire order within the contiguous 48 United States. 5% Discount on Orders of $200 or more! Retailers: Volume Discounts Available. All Products Are In Stock Unless Marked Out Of Stock. Really! Don't Settle for Less. Learn how to get FREE stuff! - T-Shirts, Shaker Bottles, and More! Go To Top of Page

Ordering Instructions
Display Shopping Cart
Checkout
Update Account / Order History
Subscribe to our Mailing Lists
Links To Other Sites
Home
Frequently Asked Questions
Contact Us
Food Nutrients
Affiliate Program
Gift Certificates
Secure Ordering

If you have a website, blog or facebook page, join
Netrition's Affiliate Program* and start earning cash today! Now paying 20%*


Netrition® is a registered mark of Netrition, Inc. Products and companies referred to herein are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective companies or mark holders. Images/Data © Copyright 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. and/or its content providers. All rights reserved. The material on this site may not be reproduced, distributed, proxy cached or otherwise used, without written permission of content owners.
Disclaimers: * No claims found on our web pages or in print have been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. No claim or opinion on these pages is intended to be, nor should be construed to be, medical advice. Please consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet or exercise program. Netrition and its associates are not responsible for product claims made by manufacturers on this web site. Netrition, Inc. is not responsible for typographical errors. Prices and information on these pages are subject to change without notice.

Copyright © 1996-2014 Netrition, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Statement